A film by Yung Chang

Produced by
Mila Aung-Thwin
Germaine Wong
John Christou

Director of photography
Wang Shi Qing

Edited by
Hannele Halm

Directed by
Yung Chang

Produced by

In co-production with the National Film Board of Canada

Executive producers
Daniel Cross
Mila Aung-Thwin
Ravida Din (NFB)
Sally Bochner (NFB)

Associate producers
Lixin Fan
Li Li

Production Supervisor
Michael MK Siu

Music by
Olivier Alary

Thank You to the Participants:
Cindy Yu Shui
Yu Ting Jun
Yang Zhi bi
Yu Zhang Ying
Yu Deng Feng
Jerry Chen Bo Yu
Spencer Zheng Li Jie

Executive for SODEC
Marie Potvin

Commissioning Editors for CBC Newsworld
Catherine Olsen
Charlotte Odele

Executives for National Geographic Channel International
Sidney Suissa
Stephen Hunter

Executive Producer for Radio-Canada
Jean Pelletier

Executive for ZDF German Television
Hans Robert Eisenhauer

Wang Shi Qing
Yung Chang

Additional Camera Operators
Lixin Fan
Feng Lan
Zhang Huajie

Sound Recordist
Lixin Fan

Lixin Fan
Li Li
Jonathan Chang

Cheng Zheng Yi

Production Assistants
Jonathan Chang
Fu Zheng hua
Zhu Fa
Fan Li ming

Additional Picture Editor
Yung Chang

Broadcast Picture Editor
Omar Majeed

Editing Consultant
Daniel Cross

On-line Editor
Denis Gathelier

Post-Production Supervisors
Michael MK Siu
Gary Evans

Post-Production Co-ordinator (EyeSteelFilm)
Omar Majeed

Post-Production Co-ordinators (NFB)
Linda Payette
Steve Hallé

Technical Co-ordination and Project Support Supervisor (NFB)
Pierre Ferlatte

Digital Editing Supervisor (NFB)
Danielle Raymond

Supervising Sound Editor
Cory Rizos

Sound Editor
Kyle Stanfield

Dialogue Editor
Cory Rizos

Sound Mixers
Serge Boivin
Shelley Craig

Sound Technician
Sylvain Cajelais

Foley Artist
Karl de Serres

Foley Recordist
Geoffrey Mitchell

ADR and Narration Recordist
Luc Leger

Dolby Consultant
Bill Allen

Project Administrator (EyeSteelFilm)
Anuj Khosla

Project Coordinator (EyeSteelFilm)
Halima Ouardiri

Production Assistants (NFB)
Sia Koukoulas
Miya Kondo

Unit Administrators (NFB)
Marie Tonto-Donati
Nickie Merulla
Dan Emery

Marketing Manager (NFB)
Moira Keigher

Sherren Lee
Li Li

Les Productions Zéphyr

Global Vision

Still Photographers
Yung Chang
Michael MK Siu

Insurance provided by

Legal Services provided by
Dean Chenoy, Heenan Blaikie LLP

Financial Services provided by

Digital Intermediate and Laboratory
TECHNICOLOR, Creative Services - Montreal

Production Accountant (EyeSteelFilm)
Anuj Khosla

Production Auditor
Joe Iacono

Pipa & Guzheng
Liu Fang

Eric Hove

Bethany Or

Alain Aubut

Jean René

Stéphane Allard

Céline Arcand

Johannes Malfatti

Melodica & Ukulele
Olivier Alary

François Larouche

Sound Engineer
Howard Bilerman

Arrangements & Orchestration
Johannes Malfatti

Score Producer and Mixer
Olivier Alary

Score Recorded in Montreal at

Additional Music
"I Had a Crush On You"
Lyrics by Richard Lam Chun-Keung
Music by Hsu Chia-Lian
Performed by Jerry Chen Bo Yu
Courtesy of Focus Music Limited

Lyrics by Mao Zedong
Performed by China Central Philharmonic Society
and China Central Academy of Music
Courtesy of Guangdong Audio & Video Publishing House

"Ni Hao is Hello"
Written and performed by Ernie Kemm

"Boat Song"
Traditional Folk Song
Performed by Wayne Wu Yun Quan

"My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean"
Traditional Scottish Folk Song

"Love You 10,000 Years"
Lyrics by Andy Lau Tak-Wah and Chan Tak-Kin
Music by G. Moroder and Larry Lee
Performed by Jerry Chen Bo Yu
Courtesy of Focus Music Limited

"Love Boat"
Written by Xiao Niao
Performed by Xiao Shitou

"Navigating the Giant Sea"
Music by Wang Shuangyin
Live Performance by the Blind Musicians of Henan Province

Production assistance provided by
QUEBEC - Crédit d'impôt cinéma et télévision
Société de développement des entreprises culturelles du Québec
Programme d'aide aux jeunes créateurs
The Canadian Film and Video Production Tax Credit
CBC Newsworld
National Geographic Channel International
Radio Canada
ZDF German Television

Opinions in this film are not endorsed by any of the cruise line companies depicted.

Ownership of this motion picture is protected by copyright and other applicable laws of Canada,
the United States and other jurisdictions throughout the world. Any unauthorized duplication, distribution or exhibition of this motion picture is strictly prohibited and could result in criminal prosecution or civil liability.

In association with
POV | American Documentary Inc.

Executive Producers
Simon Kilmurry
Cara Mertes

This program was produced by EyeSteelFilm and the National Film Board of Canada, which are solely responsible for its content.

© 2007 EyeSteel (Yangtze) Productions Inc. / National Film Board of Canada