Erica Scharf

Erica Scharf
Christina D. King

Executive Producer
Chris Eyre

Executive Producer for ITVS

Sally Jo Fifer

Executive Producer for NAPT
Shirley K. Sneve

Executive Producer for KNME

Michael Kamins

Executive Producer for AMDOC | POV
Simon Kilmurry


Sara Cross

Erica Scharf

Cindy Lee
Isaac Wayton
Megan Brennan
Janine Feczko

Sasha Gordon

Associate Producer
Ian Weiss

Associate Editor

Kelly Kendrick

Additional Camera

Ben Abrams
Michelle Brundige
Wendy Greene
Christina D. King
Patrick Stegall

Advising Editor
Geoffrey Richman

Additional Editing

Erica Scharf

Assistant Editor

Gardner Gould

Location Manager
Shawn Hardy

Communications Manager for KNME
Joan Rebecchi

Logging and Transcription

Joey Ahlbum
Mike D'Angelo
Caitlin Dinoski
Nina Gielen
Jim Goodin
Susan Mariduena
Kaitlin Moughty
Niki Nirvikalpa
Rosa Oh
Kathryn Pasquino
Nina Proct
Ben Schuman
Michelle Scourtos
Sheila Shirazi

Music Clearances
Shout It Out Loud Music
Francis Garcia
Leigh Hurwitz

Post-production Services

Final Frame, Inc.

DI Online Editor

Owen Rucker

DI Colorist
Stewart Griffin

Audio Post Facility
Dig It Audio, Inc.

Sound Supervisor
Tom Efinger

Re-recording Mixer
Tom Efinger

Sound Design

John Moros

Assistant Sound Editor

Jeff Seelye

Foley Recordist
Eric Gitelson

Foley Artist

Shaun Brennan

Dig It In House Producer

Alicia Loving


Cassidy Gearhart

Production Accounting
David Rosenberg


Dorothy B. Richardson
Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts
Hughes, Hubbard and Reed, LLP

Fiscal Sponsor

Arts Engine, Inc.

Additional Editing by
The Edit Center
Philip Thangsombat
Natalie Lattin
Andrew Waldschmidt
Todd Cross
Paul Kloss
Katia Maguire
Cindy Yoon
Ahna Tessler
Davina Wilner
Joseph Singletary
Yael Bridge
John Woo
Stephanie Ahn
Spencer Mondshein
Drew Boyd
Kristin Cully
Ashley Gormley
Michelle Scourtos
Eric Glatt
Michael D'Angelo
Alice Borrelli
Rosa Oh
Sheila Shirazi
Noah Goldman
Sigi Torinus
Rosemary Siciliano
Erika Blaszak
Sara Cross
John Weisenburger
Victoria Stewart

Special Thanks
The Armijo Family
Kara Atine
Dallas Brennan-Rexer
Chad Davis
Felix Endara
Fort Lewis College
The Gallup Independent
The Gatewood Family
Sal Gonzales
Kristen Gray Rockmaker
The Hardy Family
Judith Helfand
Henry Henderson
Emily Higgins
Tim Host
Diane Karp
Joy & Randy King
Ric Burns & Bonnie LaFave
The Martinez Family
The Nakai Family
The Town of Navajo
The Navajo Nation Film Office
Navajo Pine Schools Faculty and Staff
The Navajo Times
New Mexico Activities Association
Christopher Quinn
Cera Quintana
Rio Rancho High School
Charles Rowe
Joan & Stuart Scharf
Lorie Sekayumptewa
Gavin Sosa
Steeplechase Films
Vernon Tsosie
The University of New Mexico

Written by Raymond Raposa
Performed by Castanets
Courtesy of Asthmatic Kitty Records
By arrangement with Mixtape Music Ltd.

Licensed by courtesy of Domino Publishing Company Limited, (PRS).

Funding Provided By
Kevin Warner
And others, a complete list is available from PBS.

This film is dedicated to Beatrice and Harold Proct, Emanuel Scharf and in loving memory of Sylvia Scharf.

Up Heartbreak Hill is a co-production of Long Distance Films, LLC, Native American Public Telecommunications, ITVS, POV's Diverse Voices Project and New Mexico PBS, with major funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

This program was produced by Long Distance Films, LLC, which is solely responsible for its content.

c 2012, Long Distance Films, LLC. All rights reserved.