Tribal Justice

PBS Premiere: Aug. 21, 2017Check the broadcast schedule »


Produced and Directed by
Anne Makepeace

Executive Producer
Ruth B. Cowan

Production Consultant
Jennifer Walter

Director of Photography
Barney Broomfield

Russell Greene

Chris Ruggiero

Story Editor
Doris Baizley

Daniel Golding
Lori Nesbitt

Assistant Director for Vision Maker Media
Georgiana Lee

Executive Producer for Vision Maker Media
Shirley K. Sneve

Executive Producers for American Documentary | POV
Justine Nagan
Chris White

Additional Photography
Daniel Golding
Craig Marsden
Dominick Porras
Jack Kohler

Additional Editing
Anne Makepeace
James C. Wright
Emily Clifton
Craig Marsden

Post Production Supervisor
Maegan Hayward

Business Manager
Maureen Fahey

Budget Consultant
Su Kim

Graphic Artist
Scott Strange

Assistant Editor
Alex Bayer

Sabine Bernard
Lauren Bouton

Legal Assistance
Shelley Surpin

Technical Assistance
David Colmar
Matt Clifton

Post Producers
Elizabeth Niles
Veronica Ponce

Online Editor and Colorist
Larry Schmitt

Audio Mixer
Kevin Wilson

Advisers and Consultants
Preston J. Arrow-weed
Richard Blake
Duane Champagne
Matthew L. M. Fletcher
Carole Goldberg
Jean O'Brien
Christopher Peters
Clifford Trafzer
Juan Ulloa
Christopher Wilson
Charles Wilkinson

"This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)"
Performed by Talking Heads
Written by David Byrne, Tina Weymouth, Jerry Harrison, Christopher Franz
WB Music Corporation on behalf of Index Music, Inc. (ASCAP)
Courtesy of Sire Records
By arrangement with Warner Music Group Film & TV Licensing

Music Supervisor
Jonathan Finegold

Music Consultant
Jeffrey Kimball

Archival Photographs Courtesy of
Department of Special Collections and University Archives
Marquette University Libraries

Archival Footage Courtesy of
The National Archives and Records Administration

Contemporary Photographs Courtesy of
Claudette White
Elaine Ocegueda
Taos Proctor

Special Thanks
The California Tribal Court-State Court Forum
The Quechan Tribal Court
The Yurok Tribal Court
Victor Puglio
Gail Bruce
Jennifer Dowley
Heather, Carter and Harper Lee Greene
Charles Church

Funding Provided by
National Endowment for the Humanities
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
California Humanities
Joan Dupont
Elizabeth Weatherford
Carol Walter
Laura Kramer
Ellen Bush
Felice Burns
Awesome Without Borders
Norma & Edward Salem
Cathy Raphael
Maryann B. Sudo
Sharon Miller
Stewart Herman
Lauren & Antoine Munfa
Wayne & Marianne Witte
Helen Clement
Amy Den Ouden
Peter & Janet Ryan
Kristin Petry
Liane Louise Schwartz

Tribal Justice is a co-production of
Anne Makepeace Productions, Inc.,
American Documentary | POV,
and Vision Maker Media
with major funding provided by the
Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

This program was produced by
Anne Makepeace Productions, Inc.
which is solely responsible for its content.

© 2017 Anne Makepeace Productions, Inc. All rights reserved.