Memories of a Penitent Heart

PBS Premiere: July 31, 2017Check the broadcast schedule »


In memory of Miguel Dieppa

Written, Produced, and Directed by
Cecilia Aldarondo

Patricia Benabe

Hannah Buck

Brennan Vance

Original Score by
Angélica Negrón

Aquin Darigol
Nylda Dieppa
Gary Oliver
Rick Negrón
Nilda (Gilda) Reboyras
Lourdes Sanchez
Ilene Shane

Cecilia Aldarondo

Voice of Miguel
Lemuel Cabrera

Voice of Carmen
Olga Merediz

Associate Producers
Virginia Thompson
Nylda Aldarondo-Jeffries

Post Production Coordinator
Patricia Benabe

Consulting Producer
Ines Hofmann Kanna

Consulting Editor
Ricardo Acosta

Assistant Editor
Claire Ave'Lallemant

Contributing Editors
Hillary Bachelder
Nathaniel Cunningham
Xavier Marrades

Additional Camera
Morgan Adamson
Cecilia Aldarondo
Eric Breitenbach
Kiran Chitanvis
Katinka Galanos
Marcus Lehmann
Xavier Marrades
Rachel Elizabeth Seed

Sound Recordist
Dennis Schweitzer

Production Assistants
Tina Rodriguez
Angee Meen

Ana Dorado

Post-Production Facility
The ColourSpace

Juan Salvo

Audio Post-Production Facility
Upland Sound

Sound Designer and Re-Recording Mixer
Ruy García

Dialogue/ADR Editor
Branka Mrkic

FX Editor
Roland Vajs

Sound Engineer
Oscar Zambrano

Evelyn Farny Watkins

Music Mixer
Lawson White

Original Song
"Hot Shot"
Performed by Karen Young
Composed and Produced by A. Kahn and K. Borusiewicz
Licensed Courtesy of Altra Moda Music BV

Legal Counsel
Cardozo School of Law Indie Film Clinic
Frank Dehn

Fiscal Sponsorship
Women Make Movies

Archival Materials Courtesy Of
Aquin Darigol
Nylda Dieppa
Lisa Dennett
Matt Ebert
Pablo Flores
Pancho Mansfield
Belen Negrón
Lourdes Sanchez
Olga Sanchez Saltveit

Shannon Kennedy
Robb Moss
Richard Hankin
Thomas Allen Harris
Victor Livingston
Jeff Malmberg
Kate Amend

Special Thanks
Gina Abatemarco
The Aldarondo-Dieppa Family
Christopher Allen
Shanti Avrigan
Alex Bayer
Jean Carlomusto
Charlotte Farrell
Max Fox
Su Friedrich
Michelle Green
Russ Greene
Monica Haller
Ted Kerr
The Kristal Family
Gabriel Kristal
Scott Macaulay
Beatriz Mallory
Belen Negrón
Ann Northrop
Iva Radivojevic
Vadim Rizov
Michael Rutenberg
Mark Schiffer
Peter Staley
Rob Stulberg
David Teague
Miranda Trimmier
Nanfu Wang
Jennifer Flynn Walker
Malika Zouhali-Worrall

Funding Provided by
Sundance Institute
Firelight Media's Next Step Fund
New York State Council on the Arts
The E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Foundation
Jerome Foundation
Matthew Romanelli
The Paley Center For Media
National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures
Georg Ehrensperger
The Arch and Bruce Brown Foundation
The Roberto Guerra Documentary Fund
Edward B. Kasselman
Skidmore College Faculty Development Grant
And others. A complete list is available from PBS.

Additional Production Support
Independent Filmmaker Project
The MacDowell Colony

Executive Producer
Esther Robinson

Executive Producer for ITVS
Sally Jo Fifer

Executive Producers for POV
Justine Nagan
Chris White

Executive Producer for LPB
Sandie Viquez Pedlow

Memories of a Penitent Heart was made possible by a grant from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Memories of a Penitent Heart is a co-production of Blackscrackle Films, LLC, Latino Public Broadcasting, Independent Television Service (ITVS), and American Documentary | POV, with major funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

Memories of a Penitent Heart was produced by Blackscrackle Films, LLC, which is solely responsible for its content.

© Blackscrackle Films LLC 2016